Off my rocker…maybe

May 1, 2009 at 4:15 am | Posted in Lunatic Ravings | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

I admit it. I am having a tough time with this apparent possibly impeding swine flu(and yes, I will call it that) pandemic. I think I have become obsessed.

Actually that happened a long time ago with The Stand. I developed a horrified fascination with pandemics. I have read books about 1918, freaked out over bird flu coverage and worried about SARS. Definitely also did the whole Ebola thing in the 90’s and thanks to Hot Zone, I still find Ebola Reston disturbing. More disturbing since I lived in the DC area at the time though I didn’t have a clue about what was going on then.

Now though it is like seeing my nightmares start to come true. OK…so far not the worst of them but the unknowns still freak me out and even more, the lack of control freaks me out more. IT could be anywhere and I don’t know it. It doesn’t feel all that empowering to sing Happy Birthday as I wash my hands as is recommended.

The other measure of bizarre control I have discovered is buying canned food and other items. Starting last Saturday, every time I go to the store I buy more and more. I keep telling myself it is for just in case. Just in case this spreads and even if it is mild, we will be ready. Just in case all hell breaks loose, society breaks down and Randall Flagg appears is probably closer to the truth.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Jo, you are NOT alone………for some reason this swine flu has me more concerned than any of the others……….

    You and I can live together with our canned food!

  2. I am glad I am not the only nut out there.lol Things are looking more promising but I still freak about the unknowns and what ifs. We are well stocked at this point. If nothing happens at least I know that I will always have something for dinner on those busy nights.lol

    I did point out to my therapist this week that even the US government suggests that you have at least 2 weeks worth of supplies in the case of a pandemic. I guess you are crazy if you actually listen to the government because he looked at me a bit strangely.LOL


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

