My feet suck

April 6, 2009 at 3:04 am | Posted in 5K, life, Quit | 3 Comments
Tags: , , ,

I think I need to see a podiatrist. I am pretty sure I am developing Plantar fasciitis. I also have pain under the ball of the second toe of left foot along with shin pain in both legs.

I know the cause of most of my problems. I have flat feet. I do have custom orthotics but they hurt like hell. I bought some over the counter ones that were working really well until I put them in my new shoes. I think I over corrected because I looked at the bottom of my shoes and the slight wear so far looks like I am supinating.

Perhaps I should have done more research first. I probably should have bought neutral shoes to accommodate the orthotics or just wear the stability shoes I did buy without the orthotics. After all, the guy at the local running store fitted me with them without including the orthotics in the equation. I didn’t bring them with me.

All of my issues are compounded by the fact I am a new-again runner and overweight. The good news is that I have gone to 5 minute intervals and it doesn’t actually feel bad when I am running.

It just hurts like hell afterwards. It seems that all I do is ice, stretch and try to strengthen my lower legs and feet these days when I have time.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Jo, I can only imagine how much it hurts – I had an injury in one foot and it was not fun.

    I did have to chuckle at your terminology! LOL Supinating…..etc! LOL

  2. I always thought flat feet would be better(I have really high arches), but after hearing about your problems, I will be grateful for my arches.

  3. Kristen-it depends on how you walk/run. High arches have their risks too depending on your gait and some of the risks are similar. As long as you aren’t having problems, you are fine.

    A lot also has to do with not realizing how weak lower leg/feet muscles are until you start running. When you run, 9 times your body weight is driven down through the lower shins and feet. What seems strong when walking can turn to mush when running and compounds the problems.

    Thanks Tamika!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

