Contemplation

February 10, 2009 at 3:57 pm | Posted in Ready to quit | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

Since we set a quit date, every smoke feels like a betrayal, a dirty little secret. I wonder why we are waiting. We gave ourselves excuses to wait and to prepare. I have to believe it will pay off in the end.

The waiting has made us analyze when and why we smoke. I realized while watching House Hunters International last night that I even look at homes like a smoker. In one condo, there was a balcony. My first thought wasn’t about the view. It was about finding a place to smoke outside if I were the one looking at purchasing it.

This is clearly not going to be only about outlasting withdrawal but rather about changing an entire life perspective. I want the change, I am willing to embrace the change. I want to be able to read guide books about National Parks and say I can do those moderate hikes unlike now where they sound too challenging. To use an oft repeated cliche this year, Yes We Can.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Jo – its amazing how you will stop looking at those balconies as a smoke break!

    Yes. You. Can.

    🙂

  2. k- that didn’t come up with my name! LOL oops! Its Tamika! 🙂

  3. Thanks Tamika. That is a day I look forward to coming.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

